About St John's Wood
Although many of the original houses and gardens disappeared during the twentieth century, through bomb damage and the building of new roads, railways, blocks of flats, hospitals, schools, much of the original character of the area remains.
In the 1960s, most of St John’s Wood was designated a Conservation Area and its houses listed by English Heritage. In 1814, Lord’s cricket ground moved to its present site and St. John’s Church was consecrated. In 1825, the Riding School, now part of the Royal Horse Artillery Barracks, was completed, and in 1836, St Marylebone Almshouses were built (re-built on the same site in 1965), and the Roman Catholic Church of Our Lady.
In 1847 St Mark’s Church, Hamilton Terrace was consecrated. All of these historical features are still prominent in the life of St John’s Wood today, and together with more recent developments, such as Abbey Road Studios and the Central London Mosque, continue to give St John’s Wood its unique character.
Founded in 1963, the St John's Wood Society encourages high standards of architecture and town planning in the area. The Society aims to stimulate public interest in and care for the beauty, history and character of the area. It provides an opportunity for public discussion by presenting relevant issues to those who influence local development.
In general, the Society is concerned with buildings, traffic and trees as well as all matters that are of public interest. The St John’s Wood Society listens to the diverse views of its members on controversial issues and makes appropriate representations.